Recitals

RECITAL DIARY

The WOA Diary of Public Recitals in the Region from October 2022 (Concerts by or including WOA members are shown in bold italics)

2022

Saturday 1st October 11.00am St Michael & All Angels, Ledbury.
Gus Orchard (Fladbury, Worcestershire)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 1st October 12noon Shrewsbury Abbey
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 1st October 5.00pm The Guild Chapel, Stratford upon Avon
Paul Trepte (Worcester).   The Guild anniversary recital
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 2nd October 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham)   Franck 200 – Choral 2
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 6th October 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 9th October 3.00pm All Saints, Leamington Spa
Keith Hearnshaw (St Mary the Virgin, Hanbury)
Admission free, retiring collection..

Wednesday 12th October 12.30pm St Peter & St Paul, Upton upon Severn
Stephen Power (Brecon Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection

Thursday 13th October 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Paul Trepte (Worcester)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 15th October 12pm Victoria Hall, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Callum Alger (St Peter, Wolverhampton)
Admission £11/concessions £9.50.

Saturday 22nd October 2.00pm St Mary Magdalene, Twyning, Gloucestershire
A recital by Dr John Kitchen, Edinburgh & City organist and former IAO President.
Admission free – part of the WOA educational event starting at 11.00am.
See the WOA October newsletter for full details.
 

Monday 24th October 1.00pm Birmingham Town Hall
Thomas Trotter (Birmingham City organist)
Admission £6/£5 under 30s and volume discounts available.

Saturday 29th October 11.30am All Saints, Cheltenham
James Lietch (All Saints, Cheltenham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 29th October 12noon Great Malvern Priory
Timothy Byram-Wigfield (All Saints Margaret Street London)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 30th October 4.00pm St Sebastian RC Cathedral, Magdeburg, Germany
Paul Carr (Birmingham) Part of the WOA support visit weekend.
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 3rd November 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
David Saint (St Chad’s Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 5th November 12pm Stoke Minster, Stoke-on-Trent
Ian Tracey (Liverpool) (celebrating 50 years since the organ’s rebuild)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 6th November 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham)  Franck 200 – Choral 3
Admission free, retiring collection.

Monday 7th November 1.00pm Birmingham Town Hall
Thomas Trotter (Birmingham City organist).  Cesar Franck bi-centenary celebration
Admission £6/£5 under 30s and volume discounts available.

Wednesday 9th November 12.30pm St Peter & St Paul, Upton upon Severn
Piers Maxim (Great Malvern Priory)
Admission free, retiring collection

Thursday 17th November 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Piers Maxim (Great Malvern Priory)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 19th November 6.45pm Worcester Cathedral
Nicholas Freestone plays the WOA members requests recital
Admission is free following evensong at 5.30pm.

Monday 21st November 1.00pm Birmingham Town Hall
Thomas Trotter (Birmingham City organist)
Admission £6/£5 under 30s and volume discounts available.

Thursday 1st December 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Friday 2nd December 1.00pm Emmanuel church, Wylde Green
Keith Hearnshaw (Worcester)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 3rd December 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Peter Dyke (Hereford) Christmas Sparkle
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 4th December 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) Christmas Crackers
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 15th December 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Tim Morris (Kidderminster Town organist)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Friday 16th December 12.30pm St Chad’s Shrewsbury
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Monday 19th December 1.00pm Birmingham Town Hall
Thomas Trotter (Birmingham City organist). Plus carols to sing.
Admission £6/£5 under 30s and volume discounts available.

Sunday 1st January 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) New Year’s day
Admission free, retiring collection.

Wednesday 18th January 12.30pm St Peter & St Paul, Upton upon Severn
John Wright (Cheltenham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Saturday 4th February 12noon Great Malvern Priory
Callum Alger (St Peter, Wolverhampton)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 5th February 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) A trip around Europe
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 5th March 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) Bach for Lent
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 11th March 12noon Great Malvern Priory
Samuel Hudson (Worcester Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 2nd April 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) Palm Sunday
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 7th May 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) Be Organised!
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 13th May 12noon Great Malvern Priory
Piers Maxim (Great Malvern Priory)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 4th June 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) Widor Symphony No 5
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 2nd July 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) Capriccio
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 6th August 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) Audience requests
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 28th August 12noon Great Malvern Priory
Kai Krakenburg (Husum, Germany)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 3rd September 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham) S.A.O.M 20th anniversary
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 28th October 12noon Great Malvern Priory
Paul Trepte (Worcester)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Changes and details of any new recitals will be made at the beginning of each month.

The Worcestershire Organists’ Association makes every effort to ensure that the information it publishes is accurate but cannot be held responsible for any errors or omissions: potential audience members are always advised to check the venue or organiser’s website before making final arrangements to travel to an event.

There is a new national web site live from May 2022 which you can view at www.organrecitals.uk