The WOA Diary of Public Recitals in the Region from May 2022

(Concerts by or including WOA members are shown in bold italics and some recitals are still online at the date of publication – and highlighted as such)

 

2022

Sunday 1st May 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Tuesday 3rd May 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Francois Cloete (Hereford)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 5th May 12:15pm Worcester Cathedral
Edward Byrne (Organ Scholar, Worcester Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection

Thursday 5th May 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Nigel Morris (St Chad’s Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Tuesday 10th May 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Nicholas Freestone (Worcester Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Wednesday 11th May 7.30pm Gloucester Cathedral
Johan Hammarstrom (Vasteras Cathedral, Sweden)
Admission free, retiring collection

Thursday 12th May 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Andrew Padmore (Worcester)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Friday 13th May 12.30pm St Peter & St Paul, Upton upon Severn
Simon Gibson (St Peter, Leckhampton)
Admission free, retiring collection

Saturday 14th May 12pm Gt Malvern Priory
Andrew Caskie (Worcester).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 14th May 7.30pm St Mary’s, Moseley, Birmingham
David Briggs (St John the Divine, New York USA)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 17th May 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral – a guide to the organs
Geraint Bowen, Peter Dyke & Francies Cloete (Hereford)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 21st May 7.30pm St Mary the Virgin, Hanbury
Keith Hearnshaw (Worcester).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Wednesday 25th May 7.30pm St Alban the Martyr, Highgate, Birmingham
David Briggs (St John the Divine, New York, USA)
Admission £10, students £7.

Saturday 28th May 12pm Victoria Hall, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
David Lloyd & Philip Adams
Admission £11/concessions £9.50.

Saturday 28th May 7.30pm All Saints, Cheltenham
Pavlos Triantaris (St Thomas, Brentford). Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 31st May 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Sean Farrell (Knighton)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 4th June 7.30pm St John’s, Henley in Arden
Keith Hearnshaw (Worcester).
A Queen’s Platinum Jubilee concert. Admission £10 including refreshments.

Sunday 5th June 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge ONLINE ONLY
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
www.facebook.com/sundayafternoonorganmusic

Sunday 5th June 3.00pm St Peter’s, Stanton Lacy SY8 2AE
Hilary Norris (Leominster Priory)
A Queen’s Platinum Jubilee concert. Admission free, retiring collect and including refreshments.

Tuesday 7th June 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Michael D’Avanzo (Southwell Minster)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 9th June 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Friday 10th June 12.30pm St Peter & St Paul, Upton upon Severn
John Holloway (Upton )
Admission free, retiring collection

Tuesday 14th June 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Emma Gibbins (Newport Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 16th June 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Andrew Caskie (Worcester)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 18th June 6.30pm St Cassian, Chaddesley Corbett
Piers Maxim (Great Malvern Priory) in aid of the Worcestershire and Dudley Historic Churches Trust.
Admission £15 including refreshments. Tickets from Elaine Drage
elainemdrage@gmail.com

Saturday 18th June 12pm Victoria Hall, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Ian Tracey with Liverpool Cathedral Choir
Admission £11/concessions £9.50.

Tuesday 21st June 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Peter King (Exeter)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Wednesday 22nd June 7.30pm Gloucester Cathedral
James Mitchell (Gloucester Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Friday 24th June 7.00pm Little Malvern Priory - St Giles
James Lancelot (Tewkesbury)
Admission free, retiring collection in aid of the Priory Appeal.

Saturday 25th June 7.30pm All Saints, Cheltenham
Keith Hearnshaw (Worcester).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 30th June 12:15pm Worcester Cathedral
Raymond Johnston (St Mark’s Episcopal Cathedral, Minneapolis, USA)
Admission free, retiring collection

Saturday 2nd July 11.00am St Michael & All Angels, Ledbury.
John Swindells (St Martins, Worcester)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 2nd July 6.30pm St Peter, Inkberrow.
Piers Maxim (Great Malvern Priory) in aid of the Worcestershire and Dudley Historic Churches Trust.
Admission £15 including refreshments. Tickets from Elaine Drage
elainemdrage@gmail.com

Sunday 3rd July 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 5th July 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Carleton Etherington (Tewkesbury Abbey)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 5th July 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Marion Bettsworth (Hereford)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 7th July 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
James Lancelot (Tewkesbury & Emeritus organist Durham Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 7th July 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Travis Baker (St Mary’s Putney)
Admission free, retiring collection

Friday 8th July 12.30pm St Peter & St Paul, Upton upon Severn
John Wilderspin (Pershore Abbey)
Admission free, retiring collection

Saturday 9th July 12.00pm Shrewsbury Abbey
Keith Hearnshaw (Worcester).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 12th July 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Anthony Pinel (St Chad’s Shrewsbury)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 12th July 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Piers Maxim (Great Malvern Priory)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 19th July 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Hans Hielscher (Wiesbaden, Germany)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 19th July 7.30pm Gloucester Cathedral
David Briggs (St John the Divine, New York City)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 23rd July 4.30pm Leominster Priory – a Three Choirs Festival concert
Callum Alger (St Peter, Wolverhampton)
Admission £15.

Tuesday 26th July 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Alexader Ffinch (Cheltenham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Wednesday 27th July 11am Belmont Abbey – a Three Choirs Festival concert
Alana Brook (Lincoln Cathedral)
Admission £15.

Thursday 28th July 10am Hereford Cathedral – a Three Choirs Festival concert
Henry Fairs (Berlin University, Germany)
Admission £22.

Friday 29th July 4pm Holy Trinity Church, Hereford – a Three Choirs Festival concert
Michael Stephens-Jones (Selwyn College, Cambridge)
Admission £15.

Saturday 30th July 12pm Victoria Hall, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Philip Smith & John Pryer (Birmingham)
Admission £11/concessions £9.50.

Thursday 4th August 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Sunday 7th August 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, StourbridgeONLINE ONLY
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
www.facebook.com/sundayafternoonorganmusic

Tuesday 9th August 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Charles Wooler (Newcastle)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 9th August 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Paul Carr (Birmingham).
Admission free, retiring collection
.

Thursday 11th August 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Tim Morris (Kidderminster Town organist)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 11th August 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Peter King (Organist Emeritus – Bath Abbey)
Admission free, retiring collection

Tuesday 16th August 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Simon Bell (Cheltenham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 16th August 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Hilary Norris (Leominster Priory)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 18th August 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Stefan Klemm (St Wendel, Germany)
Admission free, retiring collection

Friday 19 August 12pm Victoria Hall, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Donald Mackenzie (Odeon Cinema, Leicester Square)
Admission £11/concessions £9.50.

Saturday 20th August 12pm Victoria Hall, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Goet Van Hoef (The Netherlands)
Admission £11/concessions £9.50.

Tuesday 23rd August 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Benjamin Nicholas (Oxford)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 23rd August 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Simon Bell (Tewkesbury)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 25th August 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
David Saint (St Chad’s Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Bank Holiday Monday 29th August 12 noon Great Malvern Priory
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Bank Holiday Monday 29th August 12.30pm Coventry Cathedral
Anthony Gritten (Royal Academy of Music)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 30th August 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Keith Hearnshaw (St Mary the Virgin, Hanbury)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 30th August 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Jonathan Lee (Trinity College, Cambridge)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 1st September 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Daniel Cook (Durham Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection

Saturday 3rd September 11.00am St Michael & All Angels, Ledbury.
Marion Tunwell (URC Broadway, Worcestershire)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 4th September 3.00pm Holy Trinity, Wordsley, Stourbridge
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Tuesday 6th September 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Angela Sones (Lichfield)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 6th September 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Thomas Dahl (Petrikirche, Hamburg)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 10th September 12pm Victoria Hall, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Daniel Greenway (Oxford)
Admission £11/concessions £9.50.

Tuesday 13th September 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
James Lancelot (Tewkesbury)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 15th September 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Adrian Partington (Gloucester Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 17th September 2.30pm St Peter, Cradley, Black Country
Piers Maxim (Great Malvern Priory).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 20th September 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Anthony Gritten (London)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 20th September 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Peter Gould (Waterlooville)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Wednesday 21st September 7.30pm Gloucester Cathedral
Adrian Partington (Gloucester Cathedral)
Admission free, retiring collection

Saturday 24th September 7.30pm St Mary’s, Melton Mowbray
Keith Hearnshaw & friends. A celebration of Carlo Curley’s life.
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 24th September 7.30pm All Saints, Cheltenham
Sean Heath (Crown Court Church of Scotland).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 27th September 1.00pm Tewkesbury Abbey
Carleton Etherington (Tewkesbury Abbey)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Tuesday 27th September 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Peter Dyke (Hereford) Audience requests recital
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 6th October 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Saturday 8th October 11.00am St Michael & All Angels, Ledbury.
Gus Orchard (Fladbury)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 8th October 7.00pm Worcester Cathedral - The Quire organ 14th anniversary recital
James Lancelot (Tewkesbury & Emeritus organist Durham Cathedral).
Admission TBA.

Sunday 9th October 3.00pm All Saints, Leamington Spa
Keith Hearnshaw (St Mary the Virgin, Hanbury)
Admission free, retiring collection

Thursday 13th October 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Paul Trepte (Worcester)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 15th October 12pm Victoria Hall, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Callum Alger (St Peter, Wolverhampton)
Admission £11/concessions £9.50.

Saturday 29th October 11.30am All Saints, Cheltenham
James Lietch (All Saints, Cheltenham).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 29th October 12noon Great Malvern Priory
Timothy Byram-Wigfield (All Saints Margaret Street London).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 3rd November 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
David Saint (St Chad’s Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Saturday 5th November 12pm Stoke Minster, Stoke-on-Trent
Ian Tracey (Liverpool) (celebrating 50 years since the organs rebuild)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 17th November 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Piers Maxim (Great Malvern Priory)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 1st December 1:15pm Thursday Live St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection

Friday 2nd December 1.00pm Emmanuel church, Wylde Green
Keith Hearnshaw (Worcester).
Admission free, retiring collection.

Saturday 3rd December 1.15pm Hereford Cathedral
Peter Dyke (Hereford) Christmas Sparkle
Admission free, retiring collection.

Thursday 15th December 1.10pm Kidderminster Town Hall
Tim Morris (Kidderminster Town organist)
Admission free, retiring collection.

Friday 16th December 12.30pm St Chad’s Shrewsbury
Paul Carr (Birmingham)
Admission free, retiring collection.

 

New events, and any further details on events above, will be added progressively as and if they become available.

The Worcestershire Organists’ Association makes every effort to ensure that the information it publishes is accurate but cannot be held responsible for any errors or omissions: potential audience members are always advised to check the venue or organiser’s website (and/or to refer to organrecitals.com) before making final arrangements to travel to an event.